CDs with Martin Erhardt

deutsch english 


CD Missa L'homme arm CD Missa L'homme arm

Johannes Ockeghem (um 1420-1497): Missa L'homme arm.


Ensemble Nusmido:

Milo Machover - voice, Renaissance flute

Ivo Berg - voice, recorder, bells

Marijke Meerwijk - voice, bells

Martin Erhardt - voice, portative organ, recorder

as a guest: Miyoko Ito - fiddle

  • Audio example: Sanctus

  • "Not only are we set apart from Johannes Ockeghem by several centuries, but profound and unmeasurable changes in our social, political and philosophical world view separate us from his music. Bearing this in mind, we should not give the illusion that our efforts towards a historically informed performance practice aim at recreating an original sound or at performing the music in an allegedly authentic manner. Rather, a historically informed approach can, by helping us experience the distance and remaining mystery of our own culture, give rise to a performance practice defined by artistic and spiritual humility.

    [...] All of this offers the potential for a form of sacred polyphony in which the individual voices are neither independent nor autonomous, but point instead, through sensitive interrelation and interaction, to a common entity, whose intangible and unfathomable character appears to be part of the compositional and artistic/religious intention. At its finest moments, this manner of making music leads away from a subject-oriented approach, one in which the performer considers himself as the creator of the sound: instead it turns his attention to the acoustics of his surroundings, to its reflections and vibrations, which are in fact at the very basis of this music; it turns his physical perception away from the subordination to a fixed metrical hierarchy and towards a free flowing pulsation in complete harmony with the rhythm of his breath. Nothing, however, can be forced in this process: all too often, the hectic pace of our daily lives stands in the way for these moments to appear and develop freely. And so this music exerts for us a constant fascination, as its daunting unfamiliarity, its fragile mystery and inaccessible slowness holds a mirror to our faces."


    The CD appeared in february 2015 on Rondeau Productions and can be ordered for 15 Euro directly with us.


    "There is nothing run-of-the mill here, the Ensemble Nusmido invest these scores with a wealth of imagination and effortless radiance. What I find compelling from these young musicians is their instinctive phrasing, subtle dynamics and immaculate intonation. The instrumental items provide contrast and help sustain interest. This is a most enjoyably release, that would grace any vocal collection."

    Stephen Greenbank

    "... whereas I had not found this mass cycle to be terribly interesting previously, I now find it quite engaging. So, in that sense, one cannot praise the interpretation enough: There is much linear independence here, focusing on a chant-like reading of the parts, with tuning alignment expanding from the middle parts (rather than in a top-down approach)."

    Todd M. McComb
    CD Quinta vox

    Quinta vox. Madrigale des 16. Jahrhunderts mit selbstgemachten Diminutionen von Miyoko Ito & Martin Erhardt.

    Die meisten Stcke auf dieser CD haben wir zu zweit mit Viola da gamba, Blockflte, Orgel und Cembalo aufgenommen. Fr manche Stcke haben wir unser Ensemble mit den Sngern Anne Schneider, Marijke Meerwijk und Bram Verheijen verstrkt. Im Booklet sind Zeichnungen zu den Madrigalen von Miyoko Ito und bertragungen der Madrigaltexte in deutsche Gedichte von Eva und Martin Erhardt.

    Die Aufnahmen konnten wir im Juli und August 2014 in der Johanneskirche in Halle (Saale) realisieren.

    Madrigale und Chansons von: Cypriano de Rore, Luca Marenzio, Ihan Gero, Maddalena Casulana, Bartolomeo Tromboncino, G. P. da Palestrina, Perissone Cambio, Adrian Willaert, Jacob Arcadelt, Vincenzo Ruffo, Orlande de Lassus, Thomas Crecquillon und Pierre Sandrin.

    Das Besondere dieser CD ist, dass alle Diminutionen (Verzierungen) und instrumentalen Intavolierungen von uns selbst stammen, sich stilistisch aber przise in die Tradition der berlieferten Diminutionsschulen von Ganassi, Ortiz, Santa Maria, dalla Casa, Virgiliano, Rognoni usw. einreihen.

    Die CD erschien November 2014 beim deutschen Label Tirando (TRD 342) und kann zum Preis von 15 Euro direkt bei uns bestellt werden.



    CD Missa paschalis in alternatim

    In September 2012 the early music ensemble Cantus Modalis made a most special recording in Ostnnen (Westphalia). In addition to a praeambulum by Adam Ileborgh van Stendhal and music for Easter by Guillaume Dufay, Josquin des Prez and Fridolin Sicher, the pice de rsistance was the six-voice Missa Paschalis by Heinrich Isaac (ca. 1450-1517). In this so-called 'alternatim' mass, Isaac's polyphonic setting of sections of the Gregorian ordinary chants from the Graduale Pataviense for the Easter season is heard antiphonally with organ intabulations of the adjacent phrases by Hans Buchner (1483-1538).

    The organ chosen for this recording is the Gothic organ, originally in the Old St. Thomas Church in Soest (Westphalia). This organ, now in the small Protestant Church of St. Andreas in the village of Ostnnen, is one of the three oldest restored organs in the world, of which more than half of the pipes, the bellows and part of the case date from the first period of the organ's history, 1425-1500.

    For this recording, Cantus Modalis, directed by Dr. Rebecca Stewart, was composed of six women 'pueri' and six men 'clerici', with Martin Erhardt as 'organista'. The extensive background information, chiefly researched by Dr. Klaas van der Heide, a specialist in the area of iconographic symbolism in the famous Alamire choirbooks, is almost as exciting as a 'whodunit'. Constructed around the symbolic content of the 'advertisement' woodcut of Hans Weiditz, which was produced for the last Diet of the Habsburg Emperor Maximilian I (1459-1519) in Augsburg in 1518, this narrative traces the fascinating role which Isaac's six-voice Missa Paschalis played in the survival of the Empire, with as pivotal points the unexpected death of the Emperor's son and heir, Philip the Handsome, in 1506, and the Diet of Constance in 1507. Since the completion of the CD one small but significant realisation has been made: the two 'dogs' at the front of the woodcut are actually a lion (representing the majestic Habsburg realm) and a dog (perhaps the French king, who is attempting to nibble at its edges).

    The CD appeared just before Easter 2013 on the German label Ambitus (amb 96 965).



    CD Petitiones cordis

    Schola Stralsundensis

    Rame


  • back to top

CDs mit Martin Erhardt

 deutsch english


CD Missa L'homme arm CD Missa L'homme arm

Johannes Ockeghem (um 1420-1497): Missa L'homme arm.


Ensemble Nusmido:

Milo Machover - Gesang, Traversflte

Ivo Berg - Gesang, Blockflte, Glocken

Marijke Meerwijk - Gesang, Glocken

Martin Erhardt - Gesang, Portativ, Blockflte

unter Mitwirkung von Miyoko Ito - Fidel

  • Hrbeispiel: Sanctus

  • "Von der Musik Ockeghems trennt uns nicht allein eine Zeitspanne von mehreren Jahrhunderten, sondern kaum je abzumessende, tiefgreifende Umwlzungen im sozialen, politischen und philosophischen Weltverstndnis. Unser Bemhen um eine historisch informierte Auffhrungspraxis kann eingedenk dessen nicht der Illusion dienen, einen ursprnglichen Klang wiederherstellen oder gar dem Werk in seiner vermeintlich richtigen Gestalt habhaft werden zu knnen. Vielmehr hilft sie, uns in den Abstand und die bleibende Rtselhaftigkeit unserer Kultur berhaupt erst einzufhlen und daraus eine von Bescheidenheit getragene, knstlerisch wie spirituell erfllende Musizierhaltung entstehen zu lassen.

    [...] Mit all dem ffnet sich das musikalische Empfinden fr eine Form geistlicher Polyphonie, in der die Einzelstimmen nicht durch Unabhngigkeit und Selbststndigkeit, sondern gerade durch sensible Interaktion auf ein gemeinsames Ganzes verweisen, dessen Unfassbarkeit und Unerhrbarkeit Teil der kompositorischen und damit knstlerisch-religisen Intention zu sein scheint. In seinen geglcktesten Momenten fhrt diese Musizierweise also weg von einer subjektbezogenen Haltung, die sich selbst als Urheber des Klangs whnt: Sie lenkt das Ohr auf die Akustik des umgebenden Raumes, auf dessen Reflektionen und Vibrationen, die sich als Urgrund dieser Musik erweisen; sie lenkt die krperliche Wahrnehmung weg von der Unterordnung unter eine festgeschriebene Takthierarchie hin zum frei schwingenden und vom Atemrhythmus getragenen Pulsschlag im musikalischen Strmen. Dabei jedoch lsst sich nichts erzwingen. Allzu hufig steht die Hektik unserer Gegenwart dem Entstehen- und Geschehenlassen dieser Momente im Weg. Und so geht fr uns von dieser Musik eine stete Faszination aus, da sie uns in ihrer scheuen Fremdheit, ihrer zerbrechlichen Rtselhaftigkeit und unnahbaren Langsamkeit immer wieder unseren eigenen Spiegel vor Augen fhrt."


    Die CD erschien Februar 2015 bei Rondeau Productions und kann zum Preis von 15 Euro direkt bei uns bestellt werden.


    "There is nothing run-of-the mill here, the Ensemble Nusmido invest these scores with a wealth of imagination and effortless radiance. What I find compelling from these young musicians is their instinctive phrasing, subtle dynamics and immaculate intonation. The instrumental items provide contrast and help sustain interest. This is a most enjoyably release, that would grace any vocal collection."

    Stephen Greenbank

    "... whereas I had not found this mass cycle to be terribly interesting previously, I now find it quite engaging. So, in that sense, one cannot praise the interpretation enough: There is much linear independence here, focusing on a chant-like reading of the parts, with tuning alignment expanding from the middle parts (rather than in a top-down approach)."

    Todd M. McComb
    CD Quinta vox CD Quinta vox

    Quinta vox. Madrigale des 16. Jahrhunderts mit selbstgemachten Diminutionen von Miyoko Ito & Martin Erhardt.

    Die meisten Stcke auf dieser CD haben wir zu zweit mit Viola da gamba, Blockflte, Orgel und Cembalo aufgenommen. Fr manche Stcke haben wir unser Ensemble mit den Sngern Anne Schneider, Marijke Meerwijk und Bram Verheijen verstrkt. Im Booklet sind Zeichnungen zu den Madrigalen von Miyoko Ito und bertragungen der Madrigaltexte in deutsche Gedichte von Eva und Martin Erhardt.

    Die Aufnahmen konnten wir im Juli und August 2014 in der Johanneskirche in Halle (Saale) realisieren.

    Madrigale und Chansons von: Cypriano de Rore, Luca Marenzio, Ihan Gero, Maddalena Casulana, Bartolomeo Tromboncino, G. P. da Palestrina, Perissone Cambio, Adrian Willaert, Jacob Arcadelt, Vincenzo Ruffo, Orlande de Lassus, Thomas Crecquillon und Pierre Sandrin.

    Das Besondere dieser CD ist, dass alle Diminutionen (Verzierungen) und instrumentalen Intavolierungen von uns selbst stammen, sich stilistisch aber przise in die Tradition der berlieferten Diminutionsschulen von Ganassi, Ortiz, Santa Maria, dalla Casa, Virgiliano, Rognoni usw. einreihen.

    Die CD erschien November 2014 beim deutschen Label Tirando (TRD 342) und kann zum Preis von 15 Euro direkt bei uns bestellt werden.



    CD Missa paschalis in alternatim

    Im September 2012 machte das Vokalensemble fr Alte Musik Cantus Modalis eine besondere Einspielung im westfälischen Ostönnen. Neben einem Präludium von Adam Ileborgh von Stendhal und Ostermusik von Guillaume Dufay, Josquin des Prez und Fridolin Sicher ist das Herzstck der CD die sechsstimmige Missa Paschalis von Heinrich Isaak (um 1450-1517). In dieser sogenannten Alternatim-Messe wechseln sich Isaaks polyphone Vertonungen der gregorianischen Ordinariumsgesänge für Ostern aus dem Graduale Pataviense mit den Orgelintavolierungen der komplementren Phrasen von Hans Buchner (1483-1538) ab.

    Fr diese Aufnahme whlten wir die gotische Orgel, die ursprünglich in der alten St. Thomaskirche in Soest (Westfalen) stand und sich heute in der kleinen evangelischen St. Andreaskirche in Ostönnen befindet. Sie ist eine der drei ältesten restaurierten Orgeln der Welt, über die Hälfte ihrer Pfeifen aus ihrem Urzustand (1425-1500) sind noch erhalten.

    Cantus Modalis unter der Leitung von Dr. Rebecca Stewart setzte sich fr diese Aufnahme aus sechs Sängerinnen ("pueri") und sechs Sängern ("clerici") zusammen, mit Martin Erhardt als "organista". Die Hintergründe, hauptsächlich recherchiert von Dr. Klaas van der Heide, Spezialist für ikonografische Symbolik in den berühmten Alamire-Chorbüchern, lesen sich beinahe wie ein Krimi. Konstruiert um den "Propaganda"-Holzschnitt von Hans Weiditz, welcher fr den letzten Reichstag Kaiser Maximilians I von Habsburg (1459-1519) angefertigt wurde, verfolgt dieser Bericht die faszinierende Rolle, die Isaaks sechsstimmige Missa Paschalis im Zusammenhang mit dem Bestand des Reiches und den Schlsselmomenten des unerwarteten Todes von Philip dem Schnen 1506, dem Sohn und Erben des Kaisers, und dem Reichstag zu Konstanz 1507 spielte.

    Die CD erschien zu Ostern 2013 beim deutschen Label Ambitus (amb 96 965).



    CD Petitiones cordis

    Schola Stralsundensis

    Rame


  • zum Seitenanfang